YOUR ALBUM STORIES

Read what others think about the ABBA albums. All kinds of stories: memories of buying the album, tributes, reviews, thoughts of a particular song, et cetera. Share your memory

Average rating for the albums is 9.2

Album Thoughts From Date Rating
picture of album 'Arrival' I have wierd but vivid memories as a 5 year old, this was my very first piece of vinyl. I used to wake up super early and put this record on my old second hand, mono record player before my parents woke up, I'd sit and stare at the record going round and dream of dancing with Frieda... I can still remember the smell of the vinyl mixed with the wierd electrical smell of the record player.... I did this every day for months! And I STILL listen to this album on occasion, it really takes me on a journey to that moment almost 40 years ago...... Mark
Australia
1 Sept 2015 10

picture of album 'The Visitors' My grandmother has this record and I always listen to it when I'm at her house and relax with the visitors blasting the house down. Her favourite song is head over heels and mine is when all is said and done.
I enjoy every song on the album and I don't know why people hate two for the price of one, I think its great.
The album is my favourite and its a masterpiece.
Alex Bury
Wales
28 Jul 2015 10

picture of album 'Waterloo' I was actually still in junior high when I stumbled across the A*teens, who released a pop album in 1999 called "The Abba Generation". I loved the album so much. The lyrics were whimsical, beautiful and the sound...oh the sounds! I loved it all and through their album I discovered the talent behind it all. I picked up ABBA's Definitive collection and played it so much I burned holes through the CDs! I also picked up "ABBA" the album and "Waterloo" and wore those out too! Through my teenage years I was able to get through alot of moments in my life by listening to ABBA's wonderful thought provoking music.

In the 2000s being a teenager and loving ABBA wasnt a popular thing so I had to hide my love for them for a very long now. Now in the my 20s I let everyone know how wonderful of a band they are and constantly let people know they will be my favorite band forever! Its very hard to think of a song that I don't like from them. I also wish I was born a bit earlier so I could have went to one of their concerts. I don't even like concerts, but for ABBA I would definitely been right there in the front row...
Cynthia
United States
3 Jul 2015 10

picture of album 'The Album' This was the very first regular album I bought in 1992 after the purchase of the "ABBA Gold" compilation. Until today, it is one of my favorite albums besides "Super Trouper" and "Arrival". ABBA were the biggest pop band of all times and I still love 'em !!!
By the way: Much respect to your page and the book. I always enjoy the stories and information on both...and I still enjoy my original "Take A Chance On Us" original LP:)
ABBAmaniac
Germany
21 Jun 2015 10

picture of album 'The Visitors' Luv this album very much. My favorite album of ABBA. Such a masterpiece and it's even better than Arrival and The Album. Chandler
China
31 Oct 2014 9

picture of album 'Voulez-Vous' I have always loved this album , I even have it on my house. I remeber this album as a child beacuse my mom heared me ABBA as a young child.





One day I saw this record on the work of my boyfriend's father where he (the father not my boyfriend) works in the record shop. I was so excited about it so he told me to take it for free. Well it was the best.





Me? I just love this album no 1# in my favs from as good as new to to Kisses of Fire, I just love it (even I'm finishing my teenhood soon , I'm only a girl) I was so happy in the sky while my boyfriend didn't like it.





So my rate is 10
Roni
Israel
15 Sept 2013 10

picture of album 'The Album' This album was mine and my sisters first album. I don´t like it so much as my sister does. But this album was the first of all ABBA Lp we would buy ever since. Tina Sundelin
Sweden
28 Dec 2010 2

picture of album 'Voulez-Vous' I remember when this album was first released not as good as the other albums but still good my favourite songs are kisses of fire, as good as new and does you mother know. 4 great artists love them Megan
Australia
24 Jul 2010 6

picture of album 'Ring Ring' Great album great band still are the best. All do like all the songs but my favourite is Love (Isnt easy but it sure is hard enough) and of course ring ring. Bjorn and benny great song writers and agnetha and frida are great singers Megs
Australia
5 Jun 2010 7

picture of album 'Arrival' Great album, great band all there albums are great. But this one is the best, my favourite songs are move on, name of the game and eagle. Love them all if I could speak to abba I would say they are wonderful the best band ever. Megs
Australia
25 May 2010 9

picture of album 'The Visitors' The first album I owned by Abba was a vinyl edition of "The album". I loved every song on it. When in the early 90's I started to buy the other albums on CD I noticed that ABBA improved with every album they made. That's why to me their final album, "The visitors", is the best. Perhaps not a song on it in particular, but the album as a whole.





My very favourite song is "The day before you came", the one but last single, which is of course only available on compilations. But one of my least favourite singles is the final one, "Under attack". So if ABBA's next album would have been even better than "The visitors" is difficult to say.
Marc
Netherlands
9 Mar 2010 9

picture of album 'ABBA' This is the album which cemented ABBA's place with the Australian population. It was the first ABBA album I bought, and it is a masterpiece in every way. ABBA showed almost all styles here - from rock (Hey Hey Helen), pop (Mama Mia), classical (Intermezzo No. 1) and ballads (I've been waiting for you). Almost a greatest hits in itself, it features three singles which were all in the Australian Top 10 at the same time (SOS, I do I do I do, and Mama Mia). Andrew
Australia
4 Mar 2010 9

picture of album 'The Visitors' This album is unusual for abba end of an era I think but I still love agnethas voice the best don't get me wrong without fridas voice there would be no abba but I tend to find fridas overpowers agnetha voice when they sing live. My favourite songs is head over heels and slipping through my fingers the best megs
austrlia
11 Jan 2010 10

picture of album 'Ring Ring' I love all there albums but I do like ring ring the best and I like all of abbas songs I think they are all great musicans couldnt live without listening to there music everyday Megs
Austrlia
7 Aug 2009 10

picture of album 'The Visitors' I was living in Brighton in 1974 when ABBA won Eurovision, altough I was only 2 years old. Jump foward to 1984 and my love affair with abba begins proper. I am given a copy of The Visitors lp to listen to by my uncle, and hearing those well crafted melodies crackling out of my stereo sent shivers of excitement down my pre teen spine. I buy a copy of the lp, and most of abba's back catalogue from a second hand store in Brighton and take them home to listen. Every side of each peice of vinyl was new to me, and with each listen I grew to like the tracks more and more. The Visitors may well be Abba's last "official" album, but it was the first one i heard, first one i liked and first one I replaced with the cd version. My fave tracks on the lp are: Soldiers, I Let The Music Speak & One Of Us Stefan
United Kingdom
2 Aug 2009 8

picture of album 'Super Trouper' Every album is good in its own way and its very difficult to choose my favourite album. But I love the supertrouper album Especcialy adante adante(sang beautiful by Frida. The Spanish version also), Our last summer and Happy new year. When I heard it for the first time I was playing it over and over again. I also love put on your white sombrero (wich is not an official super trouper track) But a great song wich give me a happy feeling.





Amy
the Netherlands
24 Jun 2009 8

picture of album 'The Visitors' After rushing home with the LP on a cold dark evening, I sat in the light of the fire with my headphones on and never wanted it to end.


I love "the visitors" and "soldiers".


"When all is said and done" should of been a single in the U.K. and why was "should I laugh or cry" not on the album?


It may of been ABBA'a last album but just imagine what "Opus 10" might of been with songs like "cassandra" "the day before you came" and Just like that". We will never know!
Dean
England
12 Mar 2008 9

picture of album 'The Album' This is a good ABBA Album. The last three tracks relating to 'The Girl With the Golden Hair' are daring both in ambition and musically, proving ABBA weren't your average pop group. The first six tracks are also pure gold, with the wonderful ballad 'One Man One Woman', the poignant 'Move On', the racy 'The Name of the Game', the cruisy US blues style 'Eagle' and of course the much-famed uptempo 'Take a Chance On Me'. A great post-tour album from the masters of modern pop music. Emilia
Australia
21 Feb 2008 9

picture of album 'Waterloo' THE REASON I LIKE THE WATERLOO ALBUM IS BEACUSE THE FRONT OF THE COVER AND THE WAY ABBA WAS DRESSED IN THEIR WATERLOO STAGE COSTUMES AND FOR HALOWEEN ONE YEAR I DECIED TO DRESS UP LIKE AGNETHA IN HER WATERLOO COSTUME AND I HAVE BEEN AN ABBA FAN EVER SENCE I WAS LITTLE AND MY MOM PLAYED ME HER ABBA GRAETEST HISTS RECORDS OF THEM AND MY FAVORITE SONGS ON THE WATERLLO ALBUM ARE KING KONG SONG SUZY HANG AROUND WATERLOO SWEDISH VERSON DANCE WHILE THE MUSIC STILL GOES ON RING RING 1974 VERSON AND SITTING IN THE PALM TREE I AM NOT TO BIG ON RAGE MUSIC BUT THE WAY ABBA DOES IT SOME HOW IT CATCHES MY WAY OF THINKING ABOUT RAEGAE MUSIC.


LOVE ALWAYS


JENNIFER HANSON
JENNIFER HANSEON
USA
10 Jan 2008 10

picture of album 'ABBA' This was my second best album before I lost it and stuffed it from reapeating tracks over and over and over.


The best tracks were mamma mia, tropical loveland, sos, bang-a-boomerang, I do I do I do I do I do, I;ve been wating for you, and medley.


The in the middle tracks are Hey Hey Helen, and rock me.


And the worst tracks are man in the middle, rock me, and intermezzo no.1.
Josh
Australia
11 Nov 2007 9

picture of album 'The Album' I love all the abba albums my favourite one is Album Move On, Take a Chance On Me, The Name Of The Game, I have been an abba fan for 30 years everytime I hear my favourite songs I like them even more. Megs
Australia
5 Nov 2007 10

picture of album 'The Visitors' My favourite ABBA album has always been 'The Visitors.' All the songs are so beautiful. It is sad because it was ABBA's last album, but that doesn't make it bad. I love 'I Let The Music Speak', 'Soliders', 'When All Is Said and Done', 'Head Over Heels' and 'The Visitors', but my favourite has to be 'One of Us.'What a fantastic album! Chris
United Kingdom
13 Sept 2007 10

picture of album 'ABBA' This album had the best tracks ABBA recorded. It features Bang-A-Boomerang, a cheerful song with a theme of getting love and giving it back in return, like a boomerang. It also features masterpieces like SOS, I do, Mamma Mia and Intermezzo No 1 (an instrumental featuring Benny). The worst song is the try-hard ballad, Ive Been Waiting For You, but all in all no ABBA fan should miss this. Emilia
Australia
18 Aug 2007 8

picture of album 'ABBA' It is very hard for me to pick. I like the earlier albums the best, I suppose as they have the most memories for me. Abba were huge in Australia as we all know. Arrival has the most memories for me, but I would have to say that "Abba" would be my favourite. I love "I 've been waiting for you, Rock me, Mamma Mia, So long..the list goes on. Brenda
Australia
1 Jul 2007 10

picture of album 'Super Trouper' When I heard "Super Trouper" for the first time, I started to cry. "The way old friends do" is the most beautiful track on this album. This is a brilliant album in many ways. From "Super Trouper" right through to "The way old friend do", absolute craftsmanship. Antonie
South Africa
26 Jun 2007 10

picture of album 'Voulez-Vous' Voulez-Vous es uno de mis álbumes preferidos con Chiquitita, As Good As New, Voulez-Vous, Does Your Mother Know y Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! Veinte semanas como no. 1 en mi país!!





Voulez-Vous is one of my favorite albums with Chiquitita, As Good As New, Voulez-Vous, Does Your Mother Know & Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! Twenty weeks as a number 1 in my country!!
Fabián
Mexico
21 Jun 2007 10

picture of album 'Arrival' Hello! I am a huge Abba fan, and have been so since the age of 8 when they won in Brighton. I love all of their albums, but Arrival is by no doubt their best! I remember the day when my dad brought the record home after he had finished work. He and my mum have all the old Abba records in the attic. All worn out, my sisters and me played them over and over again. Arrival is the best, because it is perfect, and contains 3 of their biggest hits ever; Knowing me, knowing you, Money, money, money and Dancing queen. I love them, especially Frida. Super Trouper I think is their second best album. Anita
Norway
11 Apr 2007 10

picture of album 'Ring Ring' Well to me the oringal polar cd version is good better thank even the reisuses of the album. But the lp is as good as the cd as I own the oringal cd and lp. JonathaN Bollen
UK
5 Apr 2007 10

picture of album 'Waterloo' Waterloo was first released in Sweden on March 4, 1974. Recording sessions began in September 1973 and continued until February 1974.





Sessions for what was to become the Waterloo album were well under way when Björn, Benny and Stig Anderson were invited to submit an entry to the 1974 Eurovision Song Contest. The song they came up with was, of course, 'Waterloo'.





This second ABBA album was the first to really show the group as a unified entity - indeed, it was the first album to be released under the new group name. Apart from 'Waterloo' the album spawned a hit in 'Honey, Honey'.





Anja
Slovenia
14 Mar 2007 10

picture of album 'Super Trouper' I find that every album is good and fantastic in its own way.


But for me Super Trouper is the best ever. I also remember when I bought it when it was released. The reocrd store walls were decorated with the album. I played it every day like all new ABBA albums until I knew all lyrics.
Wolfram
Germany
25 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'The Album' It's great and it used in 1977 Joshua
Indonesia
18 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'ABBA' This is the first ABBA album i ever bought, because it was the only one I could get in the record store near my house, I fell in love with it instantly, besides, I am only twelve years old! All the songs where amazing, my favorite songs of the album were Mamma mia, SOS, and Hey, hey, helen. My favorite album is ARRIVAL Gerónimo
Mexico
12 Feb 2007 9

picture of album 'The Album' Voor mij behoort The Album bij de spanning van de film die ABBA maakte. Een kans om mijn helden supergroot op het witte doek te zien. Ik mocht niet naar het concert in de Jaap Edenhal, want te jong...(volgens mijn moeder) hoewel ik "al" 13 was! Ik heb de film een aantal keren in de bioscoop gezien en toen de film dan ook op dvd uitkwam lag ik bij wijze van spreke op de stoep van de winkel! De elpee neemt mij nog steeds mee naar de tijd van toen. Carolien
Nederland
6 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'Ring Ring' Back in 1980 the Ring Ring album (dutch version) appeared in stores in Germany. I saved some money (I was 12 then) and bought it in the autumn. But soon after that I had to hate it, because Super Trouper was released, which I didn't knew before. I had no money left, so I had to wait until XMas, then I finally got it ;-).


But today I really enjoy listening to Ring Ring - even more than to Super Trouper.


Taste change.


By the way, my favourite album is The Album.
mats
Germany
5 Feb 2007 8

picture of album 'The Visitors' For me, this was always my favorite abba album. I am a fan since 1974 and it was so great to live the abbatime. I will never forget the day that "the visitors" was released. I went to the recordstore, came home, played the vinylalbum and I was sold immediatly. I loved 'I let the music speak" from the first time as my favorite abbatrack alltime. What a song.


It turned out it would be their last studio album. But Abba gave us so many good music. I will love them for the rest of my life.


Enjoy "the visitors" as much as I do.


Regards


Ronnie
Ronnie
Belgium
4 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'Voulez-Vous' SUPERB << One word to describe this album !! Fantastic mix of sharp crisp vocals with cachy melodies and intricuit arrangements. Ballads such as i have a dream with classic pop such as if it wasn't for the nights and as good as new.





ABBA AT THEIR BEST !!!!
Sam
United Kingdom
2 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'Arrival' By far my favourite album, with The Visitors hot on its heels. A lively, balanced mix of the brooding (Knowing...), the happy (Dancing...), the sad, (My Love...), the nostalgic (When I Kissed...), and the mercenary (Money...), all a rabid ABBA fan could wish for and more! Rosie
Singapore
2 Feb 2007 10

picture of album 'The Visitors' I dont know why people say The Visitors is a bad album, well mabye a few tracks are boring... Its got all sort's of funny songs and "Head Over Heels" is one of the best! Kamran
Wales
2 Feb 2007 9

picture of album 'Super Trouper' The Super Trouper album is ABBA's best album!


All the songs on it are absolutely fantastic!


I especially love Me And I, Lay All Your Love On Me and Super Trouper.
Sylvia Driessen
Holland
1 Feb 2007 10

FOLLOW

Subscribe to the ABBA Plaza mail service and receive site update notifications by e-mail.

ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza ABBA Plaza